Music and Math.

I believe that our minds are emitting unconsciously or even consciously waves of thoughts and emotions to the universe, cloud or something else. And I think that we somehow share those thoughts and emotions. Its like when you are thinking about something that, you think, nobody has ever thought about it and suddenly you read or hear about someone in Japan, for example, that has came up with this “great idea”, your idea. The other day I was for some reason craving rabbit, even though I had only tasted rabbit once in my life when I was 9 years old, but anyway, in that same week the New York Times posted two different articles about rabbit including a recipe. The following week I was invited for a dinner party at a friend’s house, and guess what we had? Yes, my friends cooked a delicious rabbit paella, and they had no idea about the NYT’ article.

So, believing in that, I thought that the same think could happen sometimes in music; couldn’t two persons share the same thoughts and inspirations? Well… after I read this article, things changed in my head.

Marcelo.

http://74.125.93.132/search?q=cache:jjPe0OaYUsAJ:www.arttimesjournal.com/music/mathematical.htm+plagiarism+and+music+and+math+octave&cd=5&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us&client=firefox-a

2 responses to “Music and Math.

  1. Your post and article are quite interesting! In a way, the article is correct, however, you also have to consider which of those 500 million permutations would actually be pleasing to the human ear (I understand it’s subjective, but realistically a LOT of them would sound like a train wreck). Your post reminds me of the movie Waking Life! Have you ever seen it? They bring up a point very very similar to yours as well as a number of other very philosophical ideas. If you’ve never seen it, I highly recommend it! Thanks for the post!

  2. Fascinating article, Marcelo!

Leave a Reply

