Refining a topic – Badke, Appendix 1

Once again, I realize how tricky it is to write a paper. Even though I set a general idea of it a few weeks ago, I have been struggling with choosing one specific topic. One of the reasons for this difficulty is probably to narrow the space appropriately between what I do not know and what I want to know. That is because if I just concentrate on what I do not know, the topic seems to become far apart from my interests, inversely, if I only cling to what I want to know, it somehow tends to become ambiguous or abstract. Nevertheless, I almost decided what to choose, but it still needs to be polished up a little bit.

For this research paper, I have read the guide of Badke as well as Purdue Online Writing Lab(http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/658/01/ ), which has been great help for my writing so far.  All of them are definitely instructive and useful guidelines, but I have to admit again that the more important thing is not “a guide”, but my own decision after getting through it, although it is a natural consequence.

S.Soo

One response to “Refining a topic – Badke, Appendix 1

  1. Glad to hear that you’ve found the Purdue OWL, Soo. It’s a great resource for research and writing. I consult it often when I need to remind myself about the details of APA Style (which we’ll do in a few weeks, too).

    You’ve discussed the difficulties of choosing and narrowing a research topic very well here, too. It can sometimes seem like chasing a moving target, one that’s not quite in focus. A very apt description!

Leave a Reply

